

Board of Directors

James Caswell, Chair

P.O. Box 273362 Fort Collins, CO 80527

July 1, 2019

The Honorable Sonny Perdue, Secretary of Agriculture U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20250

Dear Mr. Secretary:

www.nafsr.org

As we noted in our recent letter, we have greatly appreciated the opportunity we have had to work with you over the past few years to sustain the heritage and effectively and efficiently manage the USDA Forest Service. In that light, we especially appreciate your reconsideration of the recent decision to close or transfer the USDA Forest Service Job Corps Conservation Centers. We believe you made the right decision for the several important reasons we outlined in our recent letter to you regarding the original decision. Thank you for your careful consideration of additional viewpoints and information that arose during the process. The Civilian Conservation Centers will continue to provide a unique and special opportunity that connects with our nation's treasured public lands.

We have noted your pledge along with the Department of Labor to review the Conservation Centers to continually improve operations and results. We would appreciate the opportunity to be involved in any way that would be useful to you. Perhaps, in a manner similar to how we responded to your kind offer to provide input on reform of NEPA and other processes you are improving. Once again thank you for your leadership and allowing us to work with you.

Sincerely,

James &. Caswell

James L. Caswell Chair

Larry Payne, Vice Chair James Golden, Past Chair **Richard Stem** Tom Thompson Greg Griffith Jack Trover Steven Eubanks Michael Rogers Ranotta McNair Malcolm "Mac" Gramley Don Howlett Pete Griffin **Rich Guldin** Hank Kashdan Jane Kollmever Bill Timko Susan Giannettino Becki Lockett Heath

Chiefs Emeritus

R. Max Peterson F. Dale Robertson Michael Dombeck Dale Bosworth Abigail Kimbell Tom Tidwell